Featured Alumni - M.F.A. in Creative Writing

Featured Alumni

Christopher Burawa

Christopher Burawa (2004) is a poet and translator. His translation Flying Night Train: Selected Poems of Jóhann Hjálmarsson was published by Green Integer Books in 2009. His book of poems, The Small Mystery of Lapses, was published by Cleveland State University Press in 2006. His translations of contemporary Icelandic poet Jóhann Hjálmarsson won the 2005 Toad Press International Chapbook Competition. He was awarded a 2008 American-Scandinavian Foundation Creative Writing Fellowship, a 2007 Literature Fellowship for Translation from the National Endowment for the Arts, a 2006 Witter Bynner Translation Residency at the Santa Fe Art Institute, and a MacDowell Colony fellowship in 2003. He is the Director of the Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts at Austin Peay State University in Clarksville, Tennessee.

Kevin Vaughan-Brubaker

Kevin Vaughan-Brubaker (2001) is a public art project manager with the City of Phoenix Office of Arts and Culture. He is secretary of the board for Nightboat Books, an independent literary press based in New York City, and teaches arts and humanities classes for the University of Phoenix Online. He also plays bass and keys in the band Mondegreen and collaborates with artists on public art projects and gallery installations. He lives in Phoenix.

Jennifer Chapis

Jennifer Chapis (2000) has published poems in magazines and anthologies including The Iowa Review, Colorado Review, McSweeney's online, Best New Poets, and Online Writing: Best of the First Ten Years.  She received the Florida Review Editor's Prize, the GSU Review Poetry Prize, and the Backwards City Poetry Series Prize for her chapbook, The Beekeeper's Departure.  Her book-length manuscript has been a finalist for the Colorado Prize, the New Issues Poetry Prize, the Dorset Prize, and the Benjamin Saltman Award, among others.  In 2008, her poetry was showcased for a full year as part of a creative marketing project hosted by the world’s largest flavor and scent manufacturer.  Her Poem as Salad was chosen by the Center for Book Arts limited-edition broadside series.  A full-time faculty member at New York University, she has received NYU's Outstanding Teaching Award, and was recently a guest lecturer of creative writing at the Königin-Olga-Stift School in Stuttgart, Germany.  Founding Editor of Nightboat Books, Jennifer lives in New York City with her husband, fiction writer Josh Goldfaden.

Caitlin Horrocks

Caitlin Horrocks' (2007) first short story collection, This Is Not Your City, won the 2008 Spokane Prize for Short Fiction and is forthcoming from Eastern Washington University Press. Stories from the collection have appeared in The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories 2009The Paris Review, Prairie SchoonerEpoch and other journals.  Her work has been short-listed in Best American Short Stories and has won awards from the Bread Loaf and Sewanee Writers' conferences and the Atlantic Monthly. She was the 2006-2007 Theresa A. Wilhoit Fellow at Arizona State University and is currently an assistant professor of writing at Grand Valley State University, teaching fiction and creative nonfiction. She lives in Grand Rapids, Michigan with fellow writer and ASU MFA alum W. Todd Kaneko.

 Chris Hutchinson

Chris Hutchinson (2009) has published poems in literary journals and anthologies in Canada and the US. He is the author three collections of poetry, Jonas in Frames: An Epic (Goose Lane Editions, 2014), Unfamiliar Weather (Muses’ Company, 2005), and Other People’s Lives (Brick Books, 2009). During his studies at ASU he taught creative writing to undergraduate students for the English Department, and to high school and elementary school students for ASU’s Young Writer’s program. He lives in Vancouver, BC.

 Tayari Jones

Tayari Jones (2000) named the 2008 Collins Fellow by the United States Artists Foundation, has published three novels. Silver Sparrow, released by Algonquin Books in 2011, earned praise from Library Journal, O Magazine, Slate, and Salon. The Untelling was awarded the Lillian C. Smith Award for New Voices by the Southern Regional Council and the University of Georgia Libraries. Leaving Atlanta received numerous awards and accolades, including the Hurston/Wright Award for Debut Fiction. It was named “Novel of the Year” by Atlanta Magazine, “Best Southern Novel of the Year,” by Creative Loafing Atlanta, and the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and Washington Post both listed it as one of the best of 2002. Essence has called Jones, "a writer to watch," and the Atlanta Journal Constitution proclaimed her "one of the best writers of her generation." She has received fellowships from the Illinois Arts Council, the Bread Loaf Writers Conference, the Corporation of Yaddo, the MacDowell Colony, the Arizona Commission on the Arts, and Le Chateau de Lavigny. A graduate of Spelman College and the University of Iowa, she has taught at Prairie View A&M University, East Tennessee State University, the University of Illinois, and George Washington University. Currently, she is an Assistant Professor in the MFA program at Rutgers-Newark University.

 Bill Konigsberg

Bill Konigsberg (2005) is the winner of the 2009 Lambda Literary Award for young adult/children's books for Out of the Pocket. The novel made the Indie Next list for the fall of 2008, and was chosen for the ALA’s 2009 Rainbow List, and by the Cooperative Children’s Book Center as one of their 2009 Choices for teen novels. The New York Public Library included Out of the Pocket on their Stuff for the Teen Age list for 2009. His second novel, Openly Straight, was released in 2013 and praised by the New York Times and Booklist. His first adult literary novel, Father, Son and Holy Buddha, is in circulation. Konigsberg has been a sports writer for the Associated Press and ESPN.com. In 2002, he won a GLAAD Media Award for his ESPN.com article “Sports World Still a Struggle for Gays.”


Hugh Martin (2012), who spent six years in the Army National Guard and eleven months in Iraq, is the author of the poetry collection The Stick Solders, which won the 2011 A. Poulin Jr. Poetry Prize from BOA Editions, Ltd. Named the 2014-15 Emerging Writer Lecturer at Gettysburg College, Martin is the recipient of a Wallace Stegner Fellowship and the Jeff Sharlet Memorial Award from The Iowa Review. His poems have appeared in numerous journals, including The Kenyon Review, The American Poetry Review, Crazyhorse, and The New Republic. Kent State UP published his chapbook, So, How Was the War?, in 2010.  

 Gary Short

Gary Short (1990) is the author three full-length volumes of poetry: 10 Moons and 13 Horses (University of Nevada Press); Flying Over Sonny Liston (University of Nevada Press), winner of the Western States Book Award; and Theory of Twilight (Ahsahta Press). Winner of a 2008 Pushcart Prize, he has also published three chapbooks. A fellow at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown and a Stegner Fellow at Stanford, he has received the Writers at Work Award from Quarterly West. He has taught at the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, Old Dominion University, and the University of California, Davis. He currently directs the creative writing program at the University of Mississippi. 

 Sarah Vap

Sarah Vap (2005) is the author of four collections of poetry: End of the Sentimental Journey, published by Noemi Press in 2013; Faulkner’s Rosary, from Saturnalia Books in 2010; Dummy Fire, which won the 2006 Saturnalia Poetry Prize; and American Spikenard, which won the 2006 Iowa Poetry Prize. The recipient of an NEA Fellowship for Poetry, she is co-editor of poetry for the online journal 42 Opus, and lives with her husband and their two sons in Santa Monica, California.